Looking for someone to test my setup and meet others to jam with

I haven’t been able to get Jacktrip working with another musician. The other person is using a PC with a wireless connection and the mic on his PC. I have a wired connection and use a focusrite audio interface that connects my edrum outputs directly to the focusrite inputs. I set the sample rate to 48Khz in the focusrite app. In Jacktrip setup, I set the input and output device to focusrite USB ASIO. I don’t see a way to mix the PC mic with the focusrite input USB. I guess I need to add a mic to the focusrite AI.

Thanks in advance,
Dan

1 Like

Hi Dan @dfab1954 and Welcome!

I have more than 15 years experience with JackTrip and a moderator of this Forum.

It sounds like you have a good setup with the Focusrite USB ASIO. And right, the PC’s built-in mic is not available because the Focusrite is designated as the audio interface for Jacktrip, so you will need a microphone connected to the Focusrite.

If the person you are connecting to has a Windows PC, they will need an ASIO driver too. There is a free one but it is very tricky to use and most JackTrip agents will not support it. I have been using it for years, and I will support it. Please feel free to email me at synthia@synthiapayne.com for more information.

Secondly, if the person you are connecting to is using WIFI, the latency will be erratic and the sound quality could also be compromised. This is because WIFI has a lot of “jitter”, which is fluctuations in the data flow making the smooth transfer of simultaneous input and output of audio unreliable.

Happy to give you more info if you would like to email me.

Hi Synthia,

It looks like the other person I’m trying to connect with is giving up for now. But I would be very interested in testing my setup with anyone.

Thanks so much for reaching out.
Dan

1 Like